What to Expect From AMD at E3 2019

After a short abscence from the E3 video game conference in California, AMD is making a comeback this year with its "Next Horizon Gaming" event, where it will reveal its "next-generation gaming products and experiences."

Credit: AMDCredit: AMD

AMD announced the event today but didn't delve into specifics about what we'll see. The announcement vaguely alludes to upcoming products and technologies that will power and change PC, console and cloud gaming.

"At Next Horizon Gaming, AMD president and CEO Dr. Lisa Su will present ... details about upcoming products and technologies that will power gaming from PC to console to cloud for years to come. The event will also feature appearances by leading game developers who will provide exclusive looks at some of the most anticipated new titles of the year," AMD said.

Navi Graphics Cards

With gaming being the main theme, we're expecting that the chipmaker may finally reveal its highly anticipated Navi graphics cards. AMD has said Navi will arrive in the third quarter of 2019, so we think it's likely AMD will use the Next Horizon Gaming event to share more information about the Navi architecture and maybe tease us with an early engineering sample.

E3 is one of the world's biggest gaming events, so we can't think of a better place to unveil a new graphics card. Let's not forget that AMD has a long history of unveiling graphics cards at E3. The chipmaker used the venue to announce the AMD Radeon R9 Fury X in 2015 and the AMD Radeon RX 460 and AMD Radeon RX 470 in 2016. 

What About Ryzen 3000?

We're not expecting much about the upcoming Ryzen 3000-series CPUs at E3. For one, it'd be unorthodox to make a processor announcement at a gaming show. Further, motherboard manufacturers, such as Biostar have confirmed that the X570 motherboard launch will take place at Computex 2019 in May. Therefore, AMD is most likely to reveal the chips at the same event, since it wouldn't make sense to unveil new motherboards without the corresponding processors.

How to Watch AMD's Next Horizon Gaming E3 Event and Computex Keynote 

The Game Awards creator Geoff Keighley will host the Next Horizon Gaming event at The Novo in the L.A. Live complex in Los Angeles on Monday, June 10, 2019 at 3 p.m. Pacific Time (22:00 UTC). The event will also be livestreamed on AMD's YouTube channel and Facebook page.

You can also tune into AMD's Computex website for a livestream of Su's Computex keynote on Monday, May 27, 2019 at 10 a.m. Taipei Standard Time, which translates to May 26 at 7 p.m. Pacific Time (02:00 UTC).

AMD has an interesting itinerary for the coming weeks, and we couldn't be more excited to see what kind of goodies the chipmaker has in store.