Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Best SSDs For The Money: May 2015

Best SSDs For The Money: May 2015
By

This month brings a long overdue update to our best SSD list. We say goodbye to older 128GB-class models, and pave the way for new m.2 PCIe SSDs that we start listing next month.

As CPU performance hits new and unforeseen heights, processors increasingly spend time waiting on data from hard drives. This is what makes storage today's most glaring bottleneck, and overcoming it requires an SSD. At the end of the day, the real-world differences between SSDs in a desktop environment aren't altogether large. The most noticeable performance increase occurs when you go from a hard disk to just about any solid-state drive.

With that said, there are measurable attributes separating one SSD from another. But you'll need to approach a purchasing decision as the sum of many parts. Within individual apps, you'll hardly notice the difference between most SATA 3Gb/s and faster SATA 6Gb/s drives. It's the more taxing workloads that make a faster device worth owning.

So, if you don’t have the time to read the benchmarks, or if you don’t feel confident enough in your ability to pick the right drive, fear not. Every month, we publish a simple list of the best SSDs for the money across the full spectrum of capacities.

May 2015 Updates

April was a fun month in our client storage test lab. We have several reviews going through the editorial process now including the Kingston HyperX Predator PCIe 2.0 x4 SSD with a Marvell Altaplus controller and HyperX Savage with the new Phison S10 controller. RamCity sent over a pair of SM951 AHCI products, one 256GB and one 128GB. If that isn't exciting enough, I also borrowed the Samsung SM951-NVMe Julio found in the latest NUC iteration from Intel.

In addition to the SM951-NVMe we'll also have a full review of a Fixstars SSD-3000M, a 3TB 2.5" 15mm SSD designed for A/V use. One of the most exciting products to hit the market in recent times is Intel's new SSD 750. We've already examined the 1.2TB model for performance but the Extreme Edition price tag is a turn off. Around the same time you read this report we'll take delivery of the 400GB model with a tamer price tag.

Computex is right around the corner and prototype products will start showing up next week. We will have a few impressive releases online just before the show.

We have some activity on our leader board this month. The Samsung 850 EVO products dropped in price since our last update. The move was significant enough to displace the OCZ Storage Solutions ARC-100 240GB and Crucial MX100 512GB from our value leader positions. The 850 EVO has always been an excellent product in all capacity sizes but the 1TB model didn't come down enough to move the Mushkin Reactor 1TB off the list.

In addition to the new mainsteam product changes, we've also added a PCIe Performance category. Eventually this category will split into two separate groups, m.2 and PCIe. The m.2 portion is easy enough to follow. PCIe will include products like the Intel SSD 750 and All-in-One RAID products like the OCZ RevoDrive series and G.Skill Phoenix Blade.

MORE: How We Test HDDs And SSDs
MORE: All Storage Articles

MORE: Latest Storage News

MORE: Storage in the Forums

Add a comment
Ask a Category Expert
React To This Article

Create a new thread in the UK Article comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 11 comments.
  • 0 Hide
    Adela Pop , 21 March 2014 10:48
    Great overview! It seems that Samsung is getting more and more attention and I think it deserves it. I would definitely prefer Samsung 840 Evo over Crucial M500. It´s true that the differences in performance are not huge between the two, but overall Samsung 840 Evo seems more reliable and it has lower power consumption:http://versus.com/en/samsung-840-evo-500gb-vs-crucial-m500-480gb
  • 0 Hide
    dickh81 , 27 March 2014 19:25
    Intenso also makes a 256 SSD drive. I wonder why that is not on your list.
  • 0 Hide
    nowasus , 22 April 2014 14:07
    I would rather see the "best of..." in a category that considers function instead of price. That way, the user may select proper utility (performance) vs his budget. For example if I am a win7pro64 user with general computer home usage, what would be my best bet for a system SSD to support various amateur level functions (media, graphics, office) with a traditional SSD with AF capabiliy.

    This way I could better choose my price range.
  • 0 Hide
    goozaymunanos , 22 April 2014 14:39
    i'll take a 512GB Sansung SSD over a 480GB Crucial for £10 extra all day and night.
  • 0 Hide
    Plusthinking Iq , 19 May 2014 22:14
    samsung makes the worst ssd when you look at the big endurance test. just goggle it ppl. have very bad experiece with samung products and must implore that no one buy the brand, phones, tv and ssd. its like sony, circling the drain.
  • 0 Hide
    asianteekay , 9 July 2014 14:06
    Quote:
    samsung makes the worst ssd when you look at the big endurance test. just goggle it ppl. have very bad experiece with samung products and must implore that no one buy the brand, phones, tv and ssd. its like sony, circling the drain.


    Being a large all encompassing company has both advantages and disadvantages being that it can leverage its own in-house supplies for components and technologies. And bulk discounts and special order specifics chips. I suspect these SSD have little to no provisioning and there for more likely to fail than compared say a Crucial (512GB 840 Evo v. 480 M550) That's really no reason not to boycott their display panels used in TVs and monitors. Much like Sony does very well in audio but not so well in the PC market.
  • 1 Hide
    Jonathan Cave , 29 November 2014 12:43
    Quote:

    Too bad the company didn't come out with a 1TB version of the MX100. Then again, at these prices, you could simply pick up two MX100 512GB SSDs and run them in RAID 0. Yeah…it's time to get a little creative.


    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/ssd-raid-benchmark,3485-13.html

    There is no real world benefits to RAID 0 for SSD's according to your own article. Can the editor of this document clarify?
  • 0 Hide
    dottorrent , 26 December 2014 02:24
    Seems like Samsung is the most successful SSD manufacture to date. May even take OCZ for legendary status.
  • 1 Hide
    Shneiky , 14 April 2015 16:18
    "samsung makes the worst ssd when you look at the big endurance test. just goggle it ppl."

    How about you google it?

    http://techreport.com/review/27062/the-ssd-endurance-experiment-only-two-remain-after-1-5pb

    "The 840 Pro and remaining HyperX are already on their way to 1.6PB."

    1.6 PB from a consumer SSD is not something that you can consider "bad endurance". Even the 840 Evo wrote 300 TBs without error and died at 900TBs which is quite reasonable for a cheap SSD.
  • 0 Hide
    daglesj , 14 April 2015 16:32
    Pointless till they add the BX100.
  • 0 Hide
    sam_p_lay , 6 May 2015 17:00
    Quote:
    "samsung makes the worst ssd when you look at the big endurance test. just goggle it ppl."

    How about you google it?

    http://techreport.com/review/27062/the-ssd-endurance-experiment-only-two-remain-after-1-5pb

    "The 840 Pro and remaining HyperX are already on their way to 1.6PB."

    1.6 PB from a consumer SSD is not something that you can consider "bad endurance". Even the 840 Evo wrote 300 TBs without error and died at 900TBs which is quite reasonable for a cheap SSD.


    He could be referring to the 840 EVO.

    http://www.techspot.com/article/997-samsung-ssd-read-performance-degradation/
React To This Article