Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

World In Conflict

Nvidia GeForce 9800 GTX Review
By

This is another power-hungry game, though not a match for Crysis (we didn’t have to lower the resolutions here). World In Conflict was sufficiently fluid only without antialiasing at the last level, which is very demanding. The HD 3870 X2 finally showed its stuff under these conditions. The 9800 GTX was again between the cards from the previous generation (according to Nvidia, at least) - meaning the 8800 Ultra and GTX, both of which moved well ahead once antialiasing was enabled due to their additional memory. As for the 8800 GTS 512 MB, it lagged behind the 9800 GTX by between 5% and 10%.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the UK Article comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 11 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    fepple , 1 April 2008 23:00
    Still no reason to upgrade form an 8800 GT or GTS (512) though

    DAMMIT need to pull their finger out, so Nvidia wont fob us of with the "upgrades" and get on with some new research!
  • 0 Hide
    LukeBird , 1 April 2008 23:41
    The fact the review contains the addition of an LED on the PCB tells you all you need to know...
  • 0 Hide
    Alash , 2 April 2008 00:09
    Unless being an audiophile or wanting to play games at highest resolution with AA on, I believe the performance recap tells you all your need to know. This may well not be a revolution, but it's good bang for the buck.
  • -1 Hide
    amd_fanboi , 2 April 2008 03:36
    WHAT! am i the only one who thinks this review is nothing but a load of rubbish?

    this is nothing more than an overclocked 8800GTS 512...

    shame on you, TH, for that terrible review.
  • 0 Hide
    spuddyt , 2 April 2008 03:47
    what? why? they have to review it - and they tell us its more or less an OC'd 8800gts
  • 0 Hide
    MinskUK , 2 April 2008 04:40
    For those who already have an 8800GTX or Ultra, it's about half as fast as desired and of no 'purchasing' interest whatsoever. For everyone else it looks like a well priced buy.
  • 0 Hide
    waxdart , 2 April 2008 16:42
    I want a card that uses less power, makes less noise, costs a lot less and get great frame rates.

    But; I like the heat mine kicks out as it keeps my feet warm in the winter. I'll need a cooler card summer maybe.

    I'll not be getting a new gfx card for a few years, so the above may happen.
  • 0 Hide
    cablestatic , 4 April 2008 04:33
    There’s no doubt that it’s a good value card, but it really does not warrant the GTX moniker. When the 8800GTX replaced the 7800GTX there was a significant increase in performance. The increase in performance from a standard 8800GTX and the 9800GTX is a bit of a joke. I'm running a BFG 8800GTX OC2 and the 9800GTX in no way attracts my attention. The 9800GTX may run cooler and quieter, but for those of us interested in best in class performance, these are not normally factors that would sway our buying decisions.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , 15 April 2008 19:50
    I have the new 9800 GTX and i have to say it is well worth the buy, it melts your face running everything on HD a really good card to buy
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , 22 April 2008 15:55
    WATAFAK these cards have better performance with AA AF turned ON than without it?????? Where are we........
  • 0 Hide
    parvu , 19 May 2008 05:56
    u just have to wait till the new comer 9900GTX and 9900GT is out