Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Benchmark Results: World Of Warcraft: Cataclysm

Intel Core i7-3770K Review: A Small Step Up From Sandy Bridge
By

The same phenomenon plagues the Phenom II and FX in World of Warcraft. Only now, the FX manages to deliver marginally-better numbers.

Meanwhile, Core i7-3960X and -3770K trade blows at 1680x1050 and 1920x1080, the former dominating with anti-aliasing turned off as the latter claims a small victory under higher graphics loads.

Once we hit 2560x1600, Intel’s Ivy Bridge-based part snags first place in both situations, though the discrepancy in average frame rate between the -3770K and -2550K is nearly negligible with anti-aliasing enabled (and plenty playable at 80+ FPS).

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the UK Article comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 9 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    SSri , 24 April 2012 05:15
    Thanks for the pretty quick review. The HD 4000 may be a tempting factor for many low-end desktop users. High-end users are unlikely to switch to IB. Unless extensive future reviews show a different picture, Sandy Bridge would be the CPU for my high-end new build!
  • 0 Hide
    HEXiT , 24 April 2012 06:15
    4% on average is a pretty small performance bump from a dye shrink i was hoping that ivy was gonna be in the region of 10% but i guess a small bump is better than none. still not a big enough jump for me to give up my old i7 920... ah well maybe haswell will deliver.
  • 0 Hide
    damian86 , 24 April 2012 08:48
    Well I think this will be improved in no-time, the guys are doing well in their new architecture and finding new ways to make the big jump. This is like testing, their stuff is good enough to get on the market and they can earn a lot of credits that will help them to keep working hard with new stuff.I really liked their quick sync thing.
    I still don't know the negative points in including gpus in cpus.
  • 1 Hide
    mi1ez , 24 April 2012 09:13
    US comp. You would think they could put that somewhere in the article.
  • 2 Hide
    kaprikawn , 24 April 2012 20:03
    I'm personally very excited by Ivy Bridge. I'm not planning on replacing the first gen i5 in my gaming rig, I can't see the benefit. But I'm looking at replacing the Sempron 1100LE in my server with one of the low power i3 chips when they come out. For a computer that runs 24/7, power consumption and noise are fairly important to me for that machine. The Sempron and the low end i3 have similar TPD ratings, but there's a gulf of difference in performance.
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , 25 April 2012 21:36
    An unlocked, "K" variant of the i3, or Pentium-G? That might get people excited...
  • -1 Hide
    K3v1n , 29 April 2012 16:53
    I'm happy with my FX-6100...Even if I had the money, I wouldn't upgrade it, except for maybe a 8150. This CPU is amazing, and no review on here or anywhere really does it justice. It handles every game i throw, I can convert a 6gb HD video to MP4 in 5 mins WHILE photoshop, and a game is running
  • 0 Hide
    army_ant7 , 4 May 2012 06:45
    I still do wish that Intel offered a cheaper or more powerful CPU without the built-in GPU. It seems like a big waste of time, work, and die space (and maybe even money) for, esp. now, such a big GPU portion. But maybe from the business/profit-spending point of view, it really is better for Intel as a company to have GPU's built-in irregardless.

    I'm interested in hearing from anyone else's thoughts on this.
  • 0 Hide
    AndrewdAzotus , 7 November 2013 15:48
    I see and hear about the reasons for not upgrading from Sandy-bridge to Ivy-bridge, but I would be interested in pointers for someone who has not had a desktop for about 5 years but is now looking for a new architecture which will be as long lasting as possible so I can buy a good ($200-$300) motherboard and a cheaper processor with a view to upgrading all components (memory / graphics etc) on the motherboard as time and money permits. I'm thinking either 1150 or 2011 but would appreciate some general guidance