Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Benchmark Results: Far Cry 2

GeForce GTX 295 Vs. GTX 275 SLI: When Two Are Better Than One
By

Without anti-aliasing, Far Cry 2 does a reasonable job of pushing the entire platform—especially at lower resolutions. We see the two GeForce GTX 275s turning in the best numbers at 1680x1050 and 1920x1200. Moving to 2560x1600, however, the GeForce GTX 295 catches up and passes the cards running at the same clocks.

Turning on AA emphasizes graphics power even more. Again, the lower resolutions favor the GTX 275s, and the 295 catches up at 2560x1600. But crank the GTX 275s up to their stock clocks and you witness a substantial reason to go with the two cards in SLI mode.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the UK Article comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 11 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    mi1ez , 13 May 2009 16:30
    Wouldn't 998MHz memory clock be 1996MT/s? not 1998...
  • 0 Hide
    mi1ez , 13 May 2009 16:32
    Intel Core i7 920 Extreme (Bloomfield) 2.66 GHz, 4.8 GT/s, 8 MB L3 Cache, power-saving settings disabled

    The 920 isn't an extreme edition.
  • -1 Hide
    monster_munch , 14 May 2009 03:42
    What I don't get is why the underclocked GTX 275s are running hotter than the stock 275s. Even though the theres a 100 watt difference on power consumption.
  • 0 Hide
    Reynod , 14 May 2009 20:50
    Chris why are you still pushing NVidia rubbish at us which is hot, slow, and chews up heaps of power, and their company is going down the gurgler?

    Their GT300 is 6mths behind schedule and these GT 2 series cards are overpriced, and simply rubbish compared to the newer, faster and cooler running ATI 48 series products.

    They can't get the 55nm process at TSMC running properly let alone the 40nm shrink ... so the bulk of their GPU's are older stock ... hence the relabelling of the G92 family ... twice.

    That seems to be their only product that is making them a buck, and I would rather recommend one of them cards over these monster dies that should simply ... die.



    NVidia also can't produce enough volume with the higher end cards so they are hard to get and frankly their whole halo strategy is a sham.

    Your pushing products at us whih can't be bought, shouldn't be bought, and soon won't be bought as they will be out of business.

  • -3 Hide
    etiennemos , 15 May 2009 01:02
    reynod... go play with your own $%#$%ing toys mate. nVidia ruleZZ!!
  • 0 Hide
    optical10 , 15 May 2009 03:00
    I wonder if two GTX 280's would do just as well or better than the pair of GTX 275's as I have a GTX 280 at the moment?
  • 0 Hide
    azzinoth , 15 May 2009 03:45
    Optical10: No they would not, since 275 is faster by default.
  • -2 Hide
    Reynod , 17 May 2009 19:32
    etiennemos I am sorry your unable to articulate the written word ... much like a toddler.

    /throws eti a rattle.
  • 1 Hide
    MasterDex , 17 May 2009 22:36
    And you're sprouting opinionated bullshit. This article is for those of us who do like Nvidia and their better drivers and support. If you don't like their cards stay away from them and any articles that concern them. We can make our own minds up on what cards we want to buy.

    The site has done reviews on both companies products so stop whinging like a child and stop trying to force your opinion down other people's throats.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , 19 May 2009 00:52
    2 gtx 275 paired with a tri fan accelero extreme ( see new zotac , or galaxy ) are actually cooled down , so temps will not be an issue . For mainstream , just one gtx 275 is more then you need . Stop judging cards performance based on CRYSIS benchmarks , because that`s rubbish . Visual experience ? YES ! gameplay ? CRAP ! . 2 more games like this one , and we will be swaping cards , like old video games on a nintendo . I don`t want to believe in two or three years i`m going to replace my video card whenever i want to play another game , just because crysis 2 will be for nvidia , and super mario for AMD ( whatever ) . Everywhere i look , i see people arguing about AMD vs NVIDIA . Just stop , you don`t even know what you are talking about . For your information , those companies actually earn money from this " rivalery " . That`s the whole point . It`s not a war between them , and they are not competing against each other . They just "share" the profit , but blind people don`t see that .
    And also , reviews on site`s are allways "messed up" , just to confuse blind people that are willing to spend some cash on dreams . Hd4890 and GTX 275 are exactly the same . You will get 2 frames more in a game with the first one , and 2- in another . Buy both cards , use them , test them , then you can sell the one you don`t like . Just stop beeing "fans" cause you actually don`t know what you are talking about . You really believe that they don`t have the technology to make better GPU`s , so you can play that stupid game named CRYSIS with one video card on max settings ? yes they have . They feed you with "better drivers" thoe .. because + 2fps are godlike . Can`t you see that ?Buy 3 or 4 video cards , crossfire them , sli them , whatever . In 3 years you won`t play any game due to incompatibility .
    I`m sorry for my bad english , but i`m not english so don`t give a dman ..
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , 22 December 2011 02:53
    The batch of gtx295 wasnt that great amountwise b4 other cards replace them? I wonder same gpu´s same memory another names another tags? I agree with Anonymous They make money on fun clubs. Spend some moer cahs your pc will have to be upgraded soon anyway. Be prepared to spend even more. I am owner of one msi gtx 295 and i cant tell i am not stunned by perfomance (which i should be for the buck i spend) but rather suprised by the noise the card produce full trottled. Since they made so low quantity of those i guess it wasnt ment to last. I was playing everything on an 8800gtx at allmost the same framerate on the games I use to play An uppgrade that cost 500-700 bucks at the time was not worth it. My old 8800gtx did great job. Ok now i can play some other games some more frames but the sound/noise is painfull . Hairdryer or vacumcleaner got just a little bit lower dB. Ofc lets not talk about unstable drivers that are not covering their older products that good. So in order to play new games and load Your card to the maximum every time check nvidias driver place and pray to gods that tey have released something that you will be able to play the game You purchaed. Good old days when voodoo got the job done to allmost every game one purchaed Sometimes i miss those days. Moving forward way to fast It cost moeny not to talk about the consumption society we became. Throw good things still working just becouse thers new one they caim is better then the old one You have. Where are we going with this society? Not so bright future to kids growing nowdays Living the consumpion society dream riding on their parents back. Same here not that perfect english? Well its not my native tongue. The one who wants to understand this will do so. I wish You all gamers arround the world happy hunting. Cheers!