Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Mouse: Gigabyte GM-M8000

Are Premium Gaming Peripherals Worth Your Money?
By

Here in the United States, we tend to think of Gigabyte as a motherboard manufacturer first and foremost. But everywhere else in the world, Gigabyte is known to make everything from internal components to external peripherals, including media keyboards and gaming mice. The GM-M8000 was a late entrant to the round-up, but on paper it looks impressive. Under the hood is a laser sensor capable of up to 4,000 DPI, enough memory for up to 15 different programmable macros, and on-the-fly profile switching.

The M8000 is one of the largest mice in this roundup, but textured sides make it remarkably comfortable. Like the Logitech G9, the M8000 comes with a tin of weights and a cartridge you can configure for the weight and balance you prefer. The M8000 also features customizable profiles, and it changes the backlight color to correspond to the active profile.

Additionally, the DPI indicator on the top-right side of the mouse shows you which of four DPI settings is currently selected. While the ability to choose from four settings (most mice usually restrict you to three) is welcome, this is another case when even though there are several options, it's unlikely that any gamer will use the most- or least-sensitive options.

I only encountered two issues with this mouse. First, the M8000’s wide laser sensor didn't track well on surfaces without texture, so my black SteelSeries glass-topped mouse pad was quickly factored out of my gaming setup. Gigabyte’s was the only mouse in this round-up to have an issue with my pad, but once I had the mouse on a desk surface, it worked fine. The other problem was with the included Ghost Engine software. It installed without protest on my 64-bit Windows Vista test machine, but when I launched the tool, the window wouldn't display properly. I didn't have an issue with it under Windows XP, however.

Issues aside, the M8000 is a fantastic gaming mouse from a company I'm not used to seeing produce them. The mouse is large and comfortable, almost moreso than any of the other mice in the roundup. The added features, custom profiles, and programmable buttons were useful but definitely not the M8000's strong suit.

Where the M8000 really excels is in design, feel, and weight. Add to that the fact that it comes in at $50 and boasts features that more expensive mice brag about. If you're looking for a mouse with side buttons you can program in your favorite games (I programmed one to toggle push-to-talk in a couple of different games) and switchable profiles that also feels great in your hands, the M8000 is excellent bang for your buck.

Display all 10 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    plasmastorm , 1 December 2009 04:41
    Nice review on the Lachesis, Have one myself for arounf a year now. Can't say i've had any of the dust problems you described although I did once have to pull a hair out of the sensor.
    Trya good hard mouse mat rather than the fabric type that soak up dust.
    Im using a destructor pad from Razer and never been happier.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , 1 December 2009 15:28
    just for the information, the 64bit problem can be solved by plugging the megalodon into a usb hub instead of directly to the pc. I havent had any issues since.
  • 0 Hide
    mi1ez , 1 December 2009 16:02
    Surely the XBox 360 should be in there as a gamepad...
  • 0 Hide
    mi1ez , 1 December 2009 19:40
    mi1ezSurely the XBox 360 should be in there as a gamepad...

    heh. You can tell who commented from the first page! *facepalm*
  • 0 Hide
    silicondoc , 10 May 2010 00:20
    The Saitek Cyborg keyboard is great. Lighting works especially well since you can choose regions for different coloring, which helps keeps your awareness of the keys at maximum in lighted conditions or at night.
    The keys feel good, plenty of feedback, and the wrist ledge is excellent as well as the slant angles allowed.
    It's heavy and well made compared to everything else nowadays.
    Keys do not wear off, and it is not a grease or debris magnet either.
    If you're not a tiny framed spindle handed geek, this is the one to get.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , 10 September 2010 12:39
    Ah, Gaming Peripherals :bounce: 




    I like Razer. Thanks to them I now have anger issues. I frequently smash my fist to my desk in a joyous manifestation of how much my hardware pleases me.
    I have actually cried once or twice.
    And because said hardware was so reasonably priced, I don't have money to replace it. Yay.
    That's probably because I bought this mouse for £42.99 and also the Razer Lycosa Keyboard for £52.99 and also the Razer Goliathus Gaming Surface for £12.99. That's a meagre amount of almost £110.
    I like the mouse's eyes.
    And the way it stutters and lags and freezes
    You want a gaming experience Razer?
    I was once playing Half-Life Deathmatch, I got killed.
    Lots. Because I couldn't move the crosshair due to a malfunction, the malfunction being that my mouse couldn't be bothered to do what I told it.

    The keyboard was once glossy, I cleaned it with a glasses cleaner cloth the day I got it -Oops, I scratched it. I had fun enduring the next year, with a dust covered keyboard (at least I couldn't see the scratches anymore :D ), the keys, being some strange, furry, matte black material, gather all the spunk from when I'm jerking off, which I then can't wipe away for risk of scratching the gloss. The blue backlighting of the keys and the black of the keyboard plays a kind of stereogram trick on my eyes at night, and renders them useless during daylight as the LED's aren't bright enough. The CAPS LOCK and num lock (and that other one) buttons LED indicators are so bright I can still see them winking at me from below as I look at the screen. The media section in the top right seemingly has no LED's and as a result I cannot see any of them, and generally just for sh*ts and laughs every now and then, I smush my hand over it to see what happens. I often accidentally press the LED Profile switch and have to cycle back. The hand rest slope bit at the nearest end to my body serves only to annoy and bruise the outside of my wrists. The on-board USB port never seems to work off the bat or at all and the headphone mini-jacks next to the USB port require my typing fingers to fight with the lead that trails over my keyboard to my ears. The USB connector that connects the keybard to my pc, has lots of wickle fwends. There's Mr and Mrs's USB, and the baby twins, Audio and Microphone Jack. They all have lovely days and nights clogging up all my ports like a bad case of the Flu.

    The Gaming surface, is a massive beer mat.

    Which is lovely.

    For £12.99.

    A cardboard alternative just wouldn't have soaked up my Budweiser drippage like this does.

    Spectacular.

    It's like they researched it or something.

    It gives me rashes.
    On my hands.

    Oh and if you love it when people dog ear books or your house mat curls at the edges, the gaming surface does it to stop gravity taking the said *beverage of your choice* drippage onto your desk. Obviously.

    Oh and the mouse has the same gloss black and furry matte black as the keyboard. There are two actually useful buttons under your thumb. The scroller is cool, lights up and clicks down. But then there are two button on the top, in line with the scroller, nearest your palm though, that I cannot physically reach with the middle finger (that I might use more wisely right now) that I use to scroll and right click. There are two buttons on the furthest side that exactly mirror the useful ones on the other side. These ones are useful too, and I click them with the extra finger I have to the right of my little pinky.
    Oh and just to throw it into the mix, the resource hogging config's are useless and assign the strangest things to the most useless keys. For example, the mouse has one of it's numerous buttons assigned to profile change. I love it when I accidentally hit that during a game, or when I'm using Photoshop and drawing a line or dragging something on my desktop and for around ten seconds the mouse is even more useless and I cannot move the cursor. And then my new profile (like its facbook or something) is enabled.

    Yeah. I needed this feature so badly, it's why I programmed the first one to do exactly what I need. And also why they gave us those extra buttons. So... wait, was I against or against this feature?

    £110 and 18 months later, I'm happily smashing my desk and throwing things around the room. Finding new drivers, new firmware, new tips, new tweaks, new hardware, new software, clean pants and socks, a t-shirt for the day and a shirt for the night, new config layouts/set-ups and new operating systems.

    I'm so happy you're happy Razer. Thank you.

    Type. Click.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , 5 February 2011 18:07
    I have Razer Piranha, really good headset.
  • 0 Hide
    mickytek , 3 June 2012 17:38
    I am never ever going to buy anything made by Razor ever again these Megalodon are a pile of serious crap.
    Razor have still not come up with a fix for the 64bit operating system issue and its been a year that I have had this rubbish now. DO NOT BOTHER WITH THEM AND I HAVE NO IDEA WHERE TOM GOT HIS LOVELY RIGHT UP ABOUT THEM FROM, HE OBVIOUSLY DID NOT TEST THEM WITH GAMES OR 64BIT OPERATING SYSTEM.

    Its no good proclaiming reviews like this if they are not truthful in the first place.

    The headphones are crap, take them back to the shop where you broght them and demand your money back before you make the same mystake i did.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , 13 June 2012 09:58
    The quality of Sennheiser products is undoubtedly excellent. But I'm a bit more concerned about the price.
  • 0 Hide
    hestonwfhdi , 7 July 2012 14:44
    Lighting works especially well since you can choose regions for different coloring, which helps keeps your awareness of the keys at maximum in lighted conditions or at night.