Solved

High Quality 1080p Monitor or Lower Quality 1440p Monitor?

So I've been gaming on my 21" Asus 1080p monitor for close to 2 years now, and coming up this christmas I'll be upgrading my whole system and I decided to maybe try out 1440p. A curved monitor sounds awesome, but curved 1440p monitors are out of my budget a ways($300-400). So my question is whether i should buy a rather large and curved 1080p monitor, or buy a smaller 1440p monitor that's not curved. I've never used a curved monitor before so I don't know how much of a difference in quality/immersiveness it brings, so if anyone can tell me which would give me the better quality that would be awesome. I'd also appreciate it if you can give me a suggestion towards a specific monitor. :)
- Also, would a single gtx 970 be able to handle gaming on a 1440p monitor while also having a browser or some other light task open on a second 1080p monitor? I'd like to keep my current monitor although I suppose I could sell it to buy a better single monitor...
2 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about high quality 1080p monitor lower quality 1440p monitor
  1. Best answer
    When you say curved, you are meaning the ultra-wide screens that are now usually 29-34". These screens have whole fan sites dedicated to them as users feel they add more gaming and movie immersion than higher resolution or high dynamic range. Having all is even better. There is some adjustments needed for the 21:9 aspect ratio and not all games support it so you'd need to research and decide.