How to overclock Intel Core 2 Duo E6300

Hi there,

First of all, i am really new to overclocking so sorry if i ask stupid questions..

Since a few weeks i want to upgrade my pc with a new CPU because i really have the idea that it's the bottleneck of my PC, but since a few days i have read some articles about overclocking and about how suitable the Intel Core 2 Duo is for this. Only problem is that i can't really find what configuration i could safely use in my PC. I have the following hardware:

Motherboard: MSI P965 NEO-F
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 2x 1,86 GHz
Memory: 2x 1024MB Nanya Elixer DDR2/800 Dimm
Graphics: ATI Radeon X1950XTX 512MB DDR4
Powersupply: CoolerMaster 430W

Can anyone plz tell me how much i can overclock my CPU safely and which settings i have to change in the BIOS?
All help is much appreciated.

Thnx in advance..
10 answers Last reply
More about overclock intel core e6300
  1. Do a little research, read the OC guides, then ask questions. We will be glad to help, but most of us expect you to try to do something first.
  2. OK. That sounded a little abrupt. But our goal is to give you a fishing pole and teach you to fish, not simply give you a fish.
  3. no problem, i should have put some more information here i guess. but i already read some guides about it, like this one:

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/core-2-duo-overtakes-core-2-extreme,1516.html

but it doesnt really show where i can expect difficulties for example. like the memory-speed, it is currently set to 800 but the manual tells me that it should be addepted too. even though i have no idea what i should set it too. is there some kind of tool i can calculate all the values i need to change?
  4. http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/page-240001_11_0.html

read this one....

I also have a core 2 duo E6300 and was able to overclock it to 2.5 ghz with the help of the people here(temps: idle 39 load:48).