Download the Tom's Hardware App from the App Store
The reference for current tech news
Yes No

WS.Viral.1 - real or fake?

Forum Applications : Security, Utilities, Anti-Malware WS.Viral.1 - real or fake?

Word :    Username :           
 

Hello All,

I'm seeing this supposed virus being flagged a couple of files by Symantec Norton Anti-Virus 2012, but the Corporate Edition of NAV is not flagging it, nor is Avast flagging this. I tried to look for more information on the WS.Viral.1, but the information is very vague.

Does anyone know if this is a real virus or is NAV2012 triggering on false positives?

Thanks.

Register or log in to remove.

I think it's a false positive. Check the files that are flagged. How old are they? Anyhow, here is a link to it.

http://securityresponse.symantec.c [...] 08-1836-99

You can always send a copy of the suspicious file to norton for them to check.

https://submit.symantec.com/false_positive/

Reply to Hawkeye22

Yes, it could be false positive like Hawkeye22 wrote ^^^ .

Try to run and see if it gets flagged #1 @ Simple and free guide to removing malware


Message edited by Nikorr on 01-12-2012 at 02:43:17 PM
Reply to Nikorr

Norton flags anything it thinks is possibly malicious with this label.

------------------------------ http://i1123.photobucket.com/albums/l546/area51reopened/Moderator1-1.jpg
Reply to Area51reopened
Register or log in to remove.
Tom's Hardware > Forum > Applications > Security, Utilities, Anti-Malware > WS.Viral.1 - real or fake?
Go to:

There are 732 identified and unidentified users. To see the list of identified users, Click here.

  • Ask the community now
  • Publish
Ad
Latest best answer
US
By oldmangamer_73, 92 days ago:

Of course it's possible. I believe you must be US citizen though. I would begin a...

They won a badge
Join us in greeting them