Prevent Tagged Posts from Appearing on Your Facebook Timeline Using Android

Tags:
Smartphones Default Photography Facebook Configuration Tutorial
tomsguideUS
By See all their Tutorials

When a Facebook profile is created, the default configuration is that every time the profile owner is tagged on a post or photo, the post/photo automatically appears on the tagged person’s timeline.

While most use the default privacy settings, some prefer a bit more privacy. For example, if any of your close friends has tagged you on your personal photograph, your photograph will be displayed on your timeline, and will be visible to all of your Facebook friends. This is something you might not appreciate.

In order to avoid that situation, you can restrict the tagged posts/photos from automatically appearing on your Facebook timeline. To do so, you can configure your Facebook profile in a way that every time you are tagged on a post or photo, Facebook notifies you and lets you review the tag.

After you have reviewed the post/photo, if you want, you can allow it to be displayed on your Facebook timeline. Likewise, if you don’t like the tag, you can keep it hidden so that no one else on your profile can view the post/photo.

Note: Facebook keeps the photos/posts you are tagged in hidden from your timeline until they are reviewed by you.

Here is how you can configure your Facebook profile so that it allows you to review the tagged posts/photos before they are displayed on your timeline:

  • Turn on your Android phone.
  • Tap the Menu button to go to the apps list.
  • Locate and tap the Facebook icon.
  • If you are not already signed-in, provide your necessary credentials in the appropriate fields, and tap the Log in button.
  • Once the News Feed interface opens up, tap the More button (button with three horizontal lines) from the top-right corner.
  • On the More window, scroll down the page and tap the Account Settings option located under the HELP & SETTINGS section.
  • Tap the Timeline and Tagging option on the Settings window.
  • Once the Timeline and Tagging window appears, tap the Review posts friends tag you in before they appear on your timeline option available under the Who can add things to my timeline section.
  • Finally on the Timeline Review interface, tap the ON/OFF toggle button to turn the feature ON.