How To Block Facebook Messenger from Accessing Your Contacts

Tags:
Phones Android Smartphones Facebook
tomsguideUS
By See all their Tutorials

When you first install the Facebook app on your Android phone, it asks you to synchronize the app with your contacts.

Although enabling synchronization is a good idea in order to become available to all of your friends, you might want to un-sync your contacts and phonebook from your Facebook account when you plan to deactivate or completely delete your account, of if you are heading towards creating a new Facebook profile for your business or personal use.

Regardless of the reason, here’s how you can un-sync your Facebook app from contacts and phonebook on your Android phone:

  • Turn on your Android phone.
  • Tap the Menu icon to go to the apps list.
  • Locate and tap the Facebook icon.
  • If you are not already signed-in, tap the Log In button after providing necessary credentials in the appropriate fields.
  • Once the News Feed page opens up, tap the More button (icon with three horizontal lines) from the top-right corner.
  • On the More interface, tap the App Settings option under the HELP & SETTINGS section.
  • On the Settings window, tap the Sync Contacts under the OTHER SETTINGS section at the bottom of the interface.
  • On the Contacts Sync window, tap to select the Remove Facebook data option from displayed list.
  • Once this is done, tap the Done button from the top-right corner to save the settings and make the changes effective.