Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Test Settings And Benchmarks

CrossFire Versus SLI Scaling: Does AMD's FX Actually Favor GeForce?
By
Test System Configuration
Intel CPUIntel Core i7-3770K (Ivy Bridge): 3.5 GHz, 8 MB Shared L3 Cache, LGA 1155
Overclocked to 4.4 GHz at 1.25 V
Intel MotherboardAsus Sabertooth Z77, BIOS 1504 (08/03/2012)
Intel CPU CoolerThermalright MUX-120 w/Zalman ZM-STG1 Paste
AMD CPUAMD FX-8350 (Vishera): 4.0 GHz, 8 MB Shared L3 Cache, Socket AM3+
Overclocked to 4.4 GHz at 1.35 V
AMD MotherboardAsus Sabertooth 990FX, BIOS 1604 (10/24/2012)
AMD CPU CoolerSunbeamtech Core-Contact Freezer w/Zalman ZM-STG1 Paste
RAMG.Skill F3-17600CL9Q-16GBXLD (16 GB)
DDR3-2200 CAS 9-11-9-36 1.65 V
AMD Graphics2 x MSI R7970-2PMD3GD5/OC: 1,010 MHz GPU, GDDR5-5500
Nvidia Graphics2 x Gigabyte GV-N680OC-4GD: 1,137 MHz GPU, GDDR5-6008
Hard DriveMushkin Chronos Deluxe DX 240 GB, SATA 6Gb/s SSD
SoundIntegrated HD Audio
NetworkIntegrated Gigabit Networking
PowerSeasonic X760 SS-760KM: ATX12V v2.3, EPS12V, 80 PLUS Gold
Software
OSMicrosoft Windows 8 Professional RTM x64
AMD GraphicsAMD Catalyst 12.10
Nvidia GraphicsNvidia GeForce 310.90


Great performance and quick installation keep Thermalright’s MUX-120 and Sunbeamtech’s Core Contact Freezer in my inventory of favorite testing components. The brackets that come with these older samples make them non-interchangeable, however.

G.Skill’s F3-17600CL9Q-16GBXLD has a remarkable DDR3-2200 CAS 9 rating, using Intel XMP technology for semi-automatic configuration. As a non-Intel platform, the Sabertooth 990FX configures XMP values through Asus' DOCP setting.

Seasonic’s X760 provides the consistent efficiency required to assess platform power differences.

Keeping the benchmark set from our previous round cut back testing time, though it also meant utilizing older drivers. The thing to remember is that we aren't trying to compare the performance of AMD's and Nvidia's graphics cards, and we're breaking each GPU vendor into separate charts to prevent this. Rather, we're interested in how each configuration behaves attached to AMD- and Intel-based platforms.

3D Game Benchmarks
Aliens vs PredatorUsing AvP Tool v 1.03, SSAO/Tesselation/Shadows On
Test Set 1: High Textures, No AA, 4x AF
Test Set 2: Very High Textures, 4x AA, 16x AF
Battlefield 3Campaign Mode, "Going Hunting" 90-Second Fraps
Test Set 1: Medium Quality Defaults (No AA, 4x AF)
Test Set 2: Ultra Quality Defaults (4x AA, 16x AF)
F1 2012Steam version, In-game benchmark
Test Set 1: High Quality Preset, No AA
Test Set 2: Ultra Quality Preset, 8x AA
Elder Scrolls V: SkyrimUpdate 1.7, Celedon Aethirborn Level 6, 25-Second Fraps
Test Set 1: DX11, High Details No AA, 8x AF, FXAA enabled
Test Set 2: DX11, Ultra Details, 8x AA, 16x AF, FXAA enabled
Metro 2033Full Game, Built-In Benchmark, "Frontline" Scene
Test Set 1: DX11, High, AAA, 4x AF, No PhysX, No DoF
Test Set 2: DX11, Very High, 4x AA, 16x AF, No PhysX, DoF On
Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the UK Article comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 14 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • -1 Hide
    RaysonViswas , 11 April 2013 09:21
    so get amd bulldozer fx 6300 save money overclock. then spend extra money on graphics cards and don't play f1 which many don't play skyrim which still gets good fps and metro 2033 which again noone plays. and you should be fine.
  • 0 Hide
    Xerpadon Xerilious , 11 April 2013 09:42
    Dumbass review comparing a Z77 Pci-e 3.0 vs 990FX Pci-e 2.0 no shit the amd performs less. luckily the R2.0 gen3 out performs the intel.
  • 0 Hide
    RaysonViswas , 11 April 2013 09:59
    what r2.0 gen3
  • 0 Hide
    c94w , 11 April 2013 09:59
    To be fair your pitting Intel's high end CPU which costs around £280 against AMD's flagship which cost's at most £200 so already yeah Intel is gong to be 'better'. This is my opinion change out the 3770K for the i5 3570K which is in the same price range and has similar performance. To me those results would be much more valid.
  • 0 Hide
    c94w , 11 April 2013 10:00
    To be fair your pitting Intel's high end CPU which costs around £280 against AMD's flagship which cost's at most £200 so already yeah Intel is gong to be 'better'. This is my opinion change out the 3770K for the i5 3570K which is in the same price range and has similar performance. To me those results would be much more valid.
  • 0 Hide
    finder , 11 April 2013 10:30
    latest site updates look very good with lots of data to read
  • 0 Hide
    daglesj , 11 April 2013 11:06
    Echoooo
  • 0 Hide
    blibba , 11 April 2013 11:34
    "So, when AMD's highest-end processors started falling further and further behind Intel's quickest models, we weren't surprised when Nvidia started introducing AMD-compatible chipsets."

    Nvidia was producing AMD socket chipsets long before then.
  • 1 Hide
    blibba , 11 April 2013 11:43
    Quote:
    To be fair your pitting Intel's high end CPU which costs around £280 against AMD's flagship which cost's at most £200 so already yeah Intel is gong to be 'better'. This is my opinion change out the 3770K for the i5 3570K which is in the same price range and has similar performance. To me those results would be much more valid.


    This test isn't about the relative performance of those two CPUs. It's about SLI and CF scaling on different platforms.
  • 0 Hide
    lankystreak , 12 April 2013 00:43
    nice article, had to check the price of an i7 3770k and it's £100 more expensive than the FX8350!! common sense says amd & spend the saved cash on a beefier card!!!
  • 0 Hide
    computer_noob , 12 April 2013 16:10
    What's up with all the triple posting?
  • 0 Hide
    Xerpadon Xerilious , 13 April 2013 00:18
    Quote:
    what r2.0 gen3


    The Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 Gen3 is a newer series of motherboards, R2.0 standing for Revisited 2 second version and the Gen3 3rd generation or in other words Pci-E 3.0 which gives a bit more performances in games.

    The old First series of Sabertooth 990FX (Bios 1604)(Pci-E 2.0) vs Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 Gen3 (Bios 0305)(Pci-E 3.0).
  • 0 Hide
    Xerpadon Xerilious , 13 April 2013 00:25
    Quote:
    Quote:
    To be fair your pitting Intel's high end CPU which costs around £280 against AMD's flagship which cost's at most £200 so already yeah Intel is gong to be 'better'. This is my opinion change out the 3770K for the i5 3570K which is in the same price range and has similar performance. To me those results would be much more valid.


    This test isn't about the relative performance of those two CPUs. It's about SLI and CF scaling on different platforms.


    like i said their doing an entire wrong setup.. their doing a Pci-e 2.0 vs Pci-e 3.0 motherboards. in my opinion that's down right unfair. that's the same thing as putting a medium weight MMA fighter vs a Heavy weight MMa fighter Or putting a "hi-speed" train from netherlands to france (200km/h) vs the Japanse hi-speed magnetic train(300km/h), their total different classes the speed difference in benchmarking is greatly notice-able Vary 8% up to 20% (depending on the games used in reviews including resolutions and settings).

  • 0 Hide
    Laxblade , 14 April 2013 11:32
    I'm no fan-boy, but It proves also that the FX-8350 is a decent card for the Amazon UK Price off only £155.00 -:
    against the slightly more powerful i7 3770K Costing a whooping £260.00 at Amazon retail boxed price. Thats £105.00 of a difference which could buy you a classic AMD FX-8350 & 990FX Motherboard, or not too far away... Like I have been buying intel from 2006 every year, I think my next Project will have to be the new PileDriver with the upgraded firmware updates to be released throughout the coming year.. very excited indeed.. I'm only a 'casual gamer' and use the PC for more Labour intensive tasks, like video rendering, and DTP... and the AMD FX-8350 Going by these benchmarks which are always fair at TOMS-HARDWARE, in my opinion is certainly worth the investment together with a "GA 990FXA-UD3" OR "ASUS Sabetooth 990FX R2.0"

    FOR a long time I heard nothing but bad press regarding AMD AM3+ Boards, & FX-Piledrivers and bulldozers, however it appears AMD Must have been working hard on their flagship processor, the FX-8350 Which certainly is much cheaper than my intel 3570K which cost me a whooping £177.00 Retail Boxed compared to the AMD-FX 8350 Which is only £155.00 like I said earlier in my post.On Amazon UK.

    So, Yes, I will NOT be leaving Intel behind, certainly NOT, but I will invest some cash in an AMD Rig with the "Flagship FX-8350" to give it a Fair crack off the whip.!! and there is NO better time than NOW before AMD decide to put the prices UP...

    In Amazon the AMD FX-8350 gets nothing But Completely "5 star reviews" thought the whole reviews thread from people or customers who were confirmed purchasers...NOT one Single 4, 3, 2, 1 Star reviews, no, all over "35" 5 Star reviews on Amazon UK website for all to see.. which is amazing, as these are all confirmed purchases by Amazon. So, Im taking no risk or Gamble because I know the new Pile-driver going by reading lots of good reports from some decent Professional websites give it the thumbs up mainly because of the price compared to the Intel i7 3770K which is £105.00 more which is close to the price of the:
    Gigabyte GA 990FXA-UD3 motherboard, "which is a Top end piece of equipment".
    Amazon UK are doing and offer on the TOP Motherboard by Gigabyte somewhere around £128.50 for the "Golden TOP End"; Gigabyte GA 990FXA-UD5. a price that you will not find elsewhere. So, £155+ £128 and all you need is a decent cooler and drop it into some other Case, and p=other parts you may have lying around the house. I have a spare "Zalman Z11 Plus Case" which will do nicely Plus a Spare matching set of DDR3 RAM Sticks too.. together with a power supply I bought for another rig but didn't need to use it, so I have most of the Kit already, just need the AMD CPU and GIGABYTE BOARD. (I Plan to use a spare GT 440 Nvidea GPU) TO GET ME Started, then if I'm happy with the progress I will buy a "GIGABYTE GTX 660 GPU" to match the MOTHERBOARD... I still have a sweet spot for Intel, and that will not change overnight, however at the curent price for an 8 core CPU, I think I will pay my money and take my chance while they are so more more cheaper than a 3770K. (Thanks for reading).. Cheers! - LaxBlade