Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Test Settings And Benchmarks

Eight 8 GB (2 x 4 GB) Memory Kits For P67 Express, Rounded Up
By
Test System Configuration
CPUIntel Core i7-2600K (Sandy Bridge): LGA 1155, 3.40-3.80 GHz, 8 MB L3 Cache, O/C at 1.25 V to 4.00 GHz
MotherboardAsus P8P67 Pro: BIOS 1305 (02/11/2011), Intel P67 Express, LGA 1155
GraphicsAMD Radeon HD 6950 2 GB: 800 MHz Cayman GPU, GDDR5-5000
Hard DriveWestern Digital WD1002FBYS: 1 TB, 7200 RPM, SATA 3Gb/s, 32 MB cache
SoundIntegrated HD Audio
NetworkIntegrated Gigabit Networking
PowerOCZ-Z1000M 1000 W Modular, ATX12V v2.2, EPS12V, 80 PLUS Gold
Software
OSMicrosoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
GraphicsAMD Catalyst 11.1
ChipsetIntel INF 9.2.0.1019


With a range of multipliers that support data rates up to DDR3-2133 at its standard base clock, Intel’s Core i7-2600K provides the memory controller for this LGA 1155 memory stability tests.

Many of our games have previously appeared memory bottlenecked, but only at extremely high FPS. We added a few more strenuous gaming scenarios to today’s tests to represent a more realistic representation of performance differences, topping the system with an equally-capable AMD Radeon HD 6950 graphics card.

Asus' P8P67 Pro topped our previous motherboard roundup’s memory overclocking chart, making it the best choice for pushing these modules to their limit.

Benchmark Configuration
Stability TestPrime95 v25.8 (64-Bits), Eight Threads, Torture Test, FFT length 1024K
Min Latency at DDR3-2133, 1866, 1600
Bandwidth TestSiSoftware Sandra Version 2009.9.15.130 Bandwidth Benchmark
Aliens vs PredatorAlien vs. Predator Benchmark Tool, Highest Settings, 4x AA, 16x AF
CrysisPatch 1.2.1, Benchmark tool, DirectX 10, 64-bit, CPU-Test Highest Quality, 4x AA
F1 2010v1.01, Run with -benchmark example_benchmark.xml, Highest Settings, 4x AA
Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the UK Article comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 5 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    daglesj , 19 April 2011 19:38
    Note - Ram performance reviews have been redundant for several years now.

    Please in future just review ram purely on how 'cool' it looks in your case/motherboard.

    Saves you and the reader their time/life.

    Amazed at how ram manufacturers still get away with tarting up standard ram and charging x% more for it with just a chunk of metal on it.
  • 1 Hide
    agesalter , 20 April 2011 03:21
    As the real world difference here is so small can we see performance ram verses el cheapo ram to see if it is worth spending the big bucks on memory, or (as I suspect) show that you are better off splashing the cash on cpu/gpu.

    Thanks
  • 0 Hide
    damian86 , 22 April 2011 04:09
    That was a nice review, so if you are planning a build then make sure you have one of these kits on it. I am one of these persons that can wait to save, and spen a little bit more of money for something that is worth, but I don't go too crazy spending all of it.

    So we can say the Kingston is the average in speed/value/overclocking,I was expecting a bit mroe from Corsair,and RipjawX is not staying behind showing pure solid results.
  • 0 Hide
    13thmonkey , 29 April 2011 21:26
    Could you possibly review a mixed kit please, as far as I am concerned there should be no need to have to use a fixed kit if they meet ddr3 standards.

    However there is a growing wave of people that believe the marketing bull which states that you need to use kits that come from the same box, i.e. a 2 stick kit + a single stick cannot (according to some) run in triple channel the same way that a 3 stick kit would.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , 25 October 2011 23:59
    Hi!! Please can someone tell me does this kingston memory kit goes with AsrockZ68 Extreme4 Gen 3 motherboard???