3000 Mhz RAM speed stuck at 2666

I'm an OC novice and started overclocking my i7 5820k to 4.3Ghz. I have 2x16GB (32 GB) DDR4 3000 Mhz Corsair RAM but can't get it above 2666 Mhz no matter which configuration I use. Currently I have BCLK at 100 with the CPU multiplier at 43=4300 Mhz and my GTX 1080ti at around 1800 Mhz. Whenever I push the RAM speed up to 2800 it crashes or I get the message the OC settings didn't work and have to go back to BIOS. It doesn´t tell me what went wrong. My temps are all well within range.

Whenever I try XMP it puts the BCLK up to 125 and even if I adjust CPU multiplier to 36 (4320mhz) the RAM and CPU voltage, the PC won't start and makes strange noises!

Before this I had the CPU at 4320 Ghz with BCLK at 120 (CPUx36) and the RAM just under 3000 Mhz using the "memory try it" Samsung 3000 Mhz CL16 setting on my MSI X99 SLI Plus mainboard. But I´ll admit this was a fluke and I can't remember the exact settings because I didn't save the configuration after I had to reset everything and since then I'm stuck at CPU 4.3 Mhz and 2666 Mhz.

Any ideas how to get the RAM up to 3000 Mhz? My PSU is 850w Be Quiet Platinum 80+ with an OC boost.
Reply to CthulhluRules
7 answers Last reply
More about 3000 mhz ram speed stuck 2666
  1. Currently I have BCLK at 100
    Is that stock speed for the BCLK, if not, you should set it to default before you change RAM speed.
    Because BCLK will affect your RAM.

Do this...
    1. Set your BCLK to default. (and don't mess with it)
    2. Save your settings and reboot
    3. Turn on your CPU multiplier to set the CPU frequency you want (4.3GHz)
    4. Save your settings and reboot
    5. Turn on the XMP profile for your ram

I recommend most people do NOT adjust the BCLK setting.
    Reply to dark_lord69
  2. Hi Dark Lord,