OC 1700 and got worse cinebench

So I'm new to ryzen/amd and oc in general. So I went into my bios and oc to 4.0 or 3.99 and ran cinebench and got a score of 602. When I reverted back to stock I got a score of 1323. Did I do something wrong? My pc:
Ryzen 1700
Asus strix x370-f gaming
16gb Trident gskill rgb 3000 15 acs
Evga sc 1070
Adata premier 480gb ssd
Wd blue 1tb hdd
Evga 650 nex g ps
Windows 10 home 64bit

Not a fresh install of Windows because my ssd was already connected to my old pc which I installed Windows 10 previously.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Reply to Michael_734
19 answers Last reply
More about 1700 worse cinebench
  1. Who knows what went wrong. Overheating would be the obvious possibility.

You have BSOD just waiting to happen, IMO, without a clean OS install.
    Reply to kanewolf
  2. kanewolf said:
    Who knows what went wrong. Overheating would be the obvious possibility.

You have BSOD just waiting to happen, IMO, without a clean OS install.

Ill try a fresh install when i get my new ssd in as well as my aio cooler. any other reason why my score would drop that much? when i opened ryzen master utility the temperature was around 30 degrees celsius but showed 1.52 ghz
    Reply to Michael_734
  3. I had the same problem once, i reverted back to stock and then did the same overclock. That worked for me.
    Reply to guffyluffybro
  4. 4.0 on the stock cooler is almost a guaranteed overheat. Set it to 3.7 or so and watch it increase.
    Reply to Supahos
  5. Supahos said:
    4.0 on the stock cooler is almost a guaranteed overheat. Set it to 3.7 or so and watch it increase.

That would depend on the voltage.....
    Reply to Vellinious
  6. I've not seen a 1700 that could do 4.0 on low enough voltage to use the stock cooler but he could have a magic one

But if that was the case his score wouldn't have decreased
    Reply to Supahos