Solved

Is an I5-4460 3.2GHz Quadcore going to hold back my 1070?

I want to build myself a PC I don't have that high of a budget do I im going to build it with an i5 since I really want max graphical Performance but I don't care if my teammates in games run in circles. But recently I have found out that a bad CPU will hold back good GPU's so I wanted to ask is an I5-4460 3.2GHZ Quadcore going to hold back my GTX 1070 8g? I have also seen that it can be because of you're monitor, I have an OLD SyncMasterT220 it has a resulution of 1680 x 1050 wich is good enough for me so I will keep using it untli the white cables aren't supported anymore (sry cause I'm a really bad noob at cable stuff and some other pc stuff). If it does hold it back I will just save up a bit more and get an I7. Thanks in Advance.
6 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about 4460 2ghz quadcore hold back 1070
  1. Best answer
    Renas Batal said:
    I want to build myself a PC I don't have that high of a budget do I im going to build it with an i5 since I really want max graphical Performance but I don't care if my teammates in games run in circles. But recently I have found out that a bad CPU will hold back good GPU's so I wanted to ask is an I5-4460 3.2GHZ Quadcore going to hold back my GTX 1070 8g? I have also seen that it can be because of you're monitor, I have an OLD SyncMasterT220 it has a resulution of 1680 x 1050 wich is good enough for me so I will keep using it untli the white cables aren't supported anymore (sry cause I'm a really bad noob at cable stuff and some other pc stuff). If it does hold it back I will just save up a bit more and get an I7. Thanks in Advance.

for that resolution a 1070 is serious overkill, you have removed the gpu as the main bottleneck
    your cpu will be the main fps limiter yes
  2. maxalge said:
    Renas Batal said:

for that resolution a 1070 is serious overkill, you have removed the gpu as the main bottleneck