Solved

$185 Office Build; Opinions & Thoughts?

Hey all, this Christmas my brothers and sister and myself decided to get my mom a new computer since her old (DDR2) computer is pretty well totaled. I'm a college student and my siblings are little, so needless to say this was a tight budget build between us.
Got a Thermaltake Snow Commander case from a friend for free, have a 500 Gb hard drive laying around, Got a 300 watt no brand PSU from an Acer desktop from a different buddy free and Im putting in my old GTX 650 too. Now for CPU I originally had a Celeron G1840, but I returned that after my buddy offered me his 2nd gen i3 2100 for the same price. Smart decision? I know its older than the G1840, but more powerful by a bit right? Had to search newegg for an 1155 socket Mobo, those are getting scarce. Ended up with a Asrock Mini-ATX and 8 Gb of 1600mhz DDR3.
http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/p/tLTmXL
What do you think? Shes no Titan killer, but I just need her to be able to do intensive office work and the odd total war & Fallout game. 300 watts is low, I know. But it should be Ok by my calculations..?
2 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about 185 office build opinions thoughts
  1. ... probably would have been better spending some money on a SSD, other then that not too shabby for a tight budget.
  2. Best answer
    It's nice having spare parts lying around to lessen the cost of your build. Don't forget a CPU cooler. You can get a cheap cooler (with thermal paste already applied) as the i3 doesn't require anything special for cooling.